Jonathan Eastmead Wins the 25th Dubai Duty Free Golf Cup

This past weekend saw an extremely strong field of 104 turn out to compete in the 25th Dubai Duty Free Golf Cup 2018.  Held at Dubai Creek Golf & Yacht Club, also the clubs 25th Anniversary year, the ever popular individual stableford format was played from the white tees with golfers competing to be crowned the champion and get their name in history on the illustrious perpetual trophy.

Commenting on the tournament, Dubai Duty Free’s Executive Vice Chairman and CEO, Colm McLoughlin said: “We are delighted with the turnout for this, the 25th anniversary of the Dubai Duty Free Golf Cup. Thanks to the team at the Dubai Creek Golf and Yacht Club, who are also in their 25th Anniversary year, for their role in ensuring a well organised event and I am glad that everyone enjoyed the day.”

It was Dubai Creek member, Jonathan Eastmead, who produced his best ever round at his home club to be crowned the 25th Dubai Duty Free Golf Cup Champion.  In spite of the hot and humid conditions, Jonathan produced a fine performance of 40 stableford points, beating two of his fellow members who also scored 40 points due his superb back 9 performance.

After claiming his trophy, Jonathan commented; “What a great time to produce by best ever round here at Dubai Creek!  I’d like to extend my gratitude to Colm and Dubai Duty Free, the event day was fantastic and I know all who played thoroughly enjoyed their day.”

In the Men’s Division, Ishwar Jodha got back to winning ways to claim victory after his terrific round of 40 stableford points, narrowly missing out on the overall prize after countback of the last 3 holes.  Shahin Khodjasteh and Micheal McGinley fired scores of 37 and 36 points to claim the 1st and 2nd Runner-up spots respectfully.  Meanwhile in the gross competition, defending his prize from last year, was scratch team member and Dubai Creek Club Champion, Edoardo Galeppini who shot a two under par score of 38 gross stableford points.

This year’s edition of the Dubai Duty Free Golf Cup also saw some excellent scores in the Ladies Division.  Narrowly missing out on the overall prize, Beatrice Galeppini added to the successes of her husband, by claiming the top prize in Ladies Division after scoring a remarkable 40 points.  The 1st and 2nd Runner-up prizes were awarded to past Dubai Creek Lady Captain’s Paula Savage and Kristi Sealey thanks to their fine scores of 38 and 37 stableford points.  Jamal Saab was victorious in the Senior Division with a score of 37 points, while Victor Kofod-Olsen completed the stableford winners claiming the Junior Division title with an astounding score of 48 points.

The strong field of 104 golfers were also competing in a variety of on course competitions throughout their round.  Nikhil Bhatia was successful in winning the nearest the pin on the 5th, while Michael McGinley was rewarded for his superb iron shot to be awarded nearest the prize on the 14th hole.  Ailsa Brannock and Ramzi Nasr displayed their big hitting in winning the longest drives on the 4th & 12th holes respectively.


Spread the love