05 Dec 2019

The 2019 Presidents Cup: All you need to know

WHAT: While the Ryder Cup sleeps, the Presidents Cup takes centre stage as the premier men’s team competition of the year as 12 players representing the International Team go against their American counterparts in a four-day battle.

WHEN: December 9 – 15

WHERE: Royal Melbourne Golf Club

HISTORY: The United States have dominated the event, winning 10 of the 12 matches. The 2003 event in South Africa was tied and in 1998, the first time it was held at Royal Melbourne, the Internationals romped to a 20½–11½ victory – their only triumph so far.

Meet The Captains:

The teams are led by two icons of the modern era – South Africa’s Ernie Els and 15-times Major champion Tiger Woods.

Ernie Els

A former World No.1 and four-times Major champion, Ernie Els is one of the most decorated players of the modern era and took his place in the World Golf Hall of Fame as part of the class of 2011. The South African won both The Open Championship (2002, 2012) and the US Open (1994, 1997) on two occasions among 19 wins in total on the US PGA Tour. He played in every Presidents Cup side between 1996 and 2013 and with a record of 20-18-2 is the highest points earner in the International side’s history.

Tiger Woods

Arguably the greatest player to play the game, Tiger Woods won his 15th Major title earlier this year at The Masters and picked himself as part of the 12-man playing squad. Woods, who has 82 titles on the US PGA Tour since 1996, played in every edition of the Presidents Cup between 1998 and 2013 and makes his ninth appearance this year. His record is 24-15-1.


Unlike the Ryder Cup, which has 28 matches, the Presidents Cup has 30 and is played over four days instead of a more condensed three. There are five foursomes (or fourball) matches on day one and five fourball (or foursomes) on day two. Then on day three there are four foursomes and four fourball matches followed by 12 singles matches on day four.


  • The average world ranking for the United States team is 9.8 and is the strongest, statistically, in the event’s history.
  • The Average world ranking of the International team is 37.9, making it their third weakest in Presidents Cup history.
  • Five players have won five matches in one edition of the matches – Mark O’Meara (‘96), Shigeki Maruyama (‘98), Tiger Woods (‘09), Jim Furyk (‘11), Branden Grace (‘15).
  • Ryo Ishikawa is the youngest player in Presidents Cup history – he was just 18 when he played for the first time in 2009.


United States:

Tiger Woods – captain 43 7
Justin Thomas 26 4
Dustin Johnson 35 3
Patrick Cantlay 27 6
Xander Schauffele 26 9
Webb Simpson 34 11
Matt Kuchar 41 23
Bryson DeChambeau 26 10
Tony Finau 30 16
Gary Woodland 35 18
Patrick Reed 29 17
Rickie Fowler 30 22


Marc Leishman Aus 36 27
Hideki Matsuyama Jap 27 20
Louis Oosthuizen RSA 37 24
Adam Scott  Aus 39 15
Abraham Ancer Mex 28 38
Li Haotong  Chn 24 64
Pan Cheng-tsung TW 28 63
Cameron Smith Aus 26 49
Byeong Hun An Kor 28 43
Im Sung-jae  Kor 21 33
Adam Hadwin Can 32 47
Joaquín Niemann  Chl 21  56
Share this article
Swing Sequence

Wyndham Clark Swing Sequence

By Jonathan Craddock, PGA Professional, Pete Cowen Academy One of the...

Xander Schauffele swing sequence

By Jonathan Craddock, PGA Professional, Pete Cowen Academy Xander Schauffele has...

Related articles

Tiger Woods Golf Cart Rule Change For US Senior Open

Tiger Woods is reportedly in discussions to participate in the US...

Rory Returns for the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship

Rory McIlroy will return to Yas Links for the Abu Dhabi...

Upbeat McIlroy Ready for US Open After Marital Reconciliation

Rory McIlroy’s upbeat mindset ahead of this week’s US Open at...

U.S. Open Preview – Who will claim the year’s third Major?

The third Major of men’s schedule gets underway this month with...

Surviving Summer – How Courses Cope With The Heat

Words: Will Kent Photography: Provided by Stuart & Getty Images The...

Kiaan Keeps On Winning – UAE’s Latest Jnr Star

Photography & words by Will Kent Eight-year-old Kiaan Maharaj has become...